Seminars

At AOP we run a program of weekly seminars, except during the summer.
Due to the COVID19 situation, we are currently only doing online seminars.

Online Seminars Schedule: October - December 2020

Regular seminar time slot: Thursday, 12 pm noon (this can differ for oversea speakers)

Note: Due to COVID19, all seminars in this season are held online via Zoom. Please contact seminar@armagh.ac.uk to get subscribed to the latest updates about the AOP research seminar.

 

Thu, 08 Oct 2020: Chiaki Kobayashi (University of Hertfordshire)

Thu, 15 Oct 2020: no seminar due to ULLYSES workshop

Thu, 22 Oct 2020: Claudia Lagos (ICRAR, Perth)

Thu, 29 Oct 2020: V. Mauricio Gomez Gonzalez (UNAM, Morelia)

Thu, 12 Nov 2020: Gloria Koenigsberger (UNAM, ICF)

Thu, 19 Nov 2020: Martin Bureau (Oxford University)

Thu, 26 Nov 2020: Anne-Marie Weijmans (University of St Andrews)

Thu, 03 Dec 2020: Evgenia Koumpia (University of Leeds)

Thu, 10 Dec 2020: Sadegh Khochfar (University of Edinburgh)

 

Online Seminars Schedule: March-July 2020

 

Regular seminar time slot: Thursday, 12pm noon

Thu, 26 Mar 2020: Simon Jeffery (DY Cen — from red giant to [WC] star in 100 years — with strontium)

Thu, 02 Apr 2020: Michael Burton (A method for mapping the distribution of aliphatic carbon in interstellar dust)

Thu, 09 Apr 2020: Apostolos Christou (The origin of Neptune's peculiar moons)

Thu, 16 Apr 2020: Marc Sarzi (On the Initial Stellar Mass Function in early-type galaxies)

Thu, 23 Apr 2020: Stefano Bagnulo (A high-precision survey of magnetic fields in white dwarfs within 20 parsec from the Sun)

Thu, 30 Apr 2020: Rok Nežič (Polarimetric study of 8 Kreutz comets observed by STEREO)

Thu, 14 May 2020: Lauren Doyle (Solar and Stellar Flares and Their Connection)

Thu, 21 May 2020: Erin Higgins (The evolution of massive stars in the Galaxy and Magellanic Clouds)

Thu, 28 May 2020: QUB/AOP PhD students meeting

Thu, 04 June 2020: Noel Richardson (ERAU Prescott, USA) (Constraints on the post-main sequence evolution of massive stars with high precision orbits of evolved systems)

Thu, 11 June 2020: Tony Moffat (UdeM, Canada) (Small Satellites, Big Stars: Results from the BRITE nano-satellites on massive stars)

Thu, 18 June 2020: Rico Ignace (ETSU, USA) (Diagnostics of the Organized Winds of Massive Stars)

Thu, 25 June 2020: no seminar

Thu, 02 July 2020: Heloise F. Stevance (Univ. of Auckland, NZ)

Thu, 09 July 2020: George Seabroke (UCL)

Thu, 16 July 2020: Ralphael Hirschi (Keele University)

Thu, 23 July 2020: Maritza Arlene Lara-Lopez

Thu, 30 July 2020: Victoria Grinberg (Universität Tübingen)

The regular schedule for 2019/2020

DateSpeakerSeminar Title
Thu, 05 Sep 2019INAM
Wed, 18 Sep 2019Holly PreeceThe Effect of Tidal Interactions on Hot Subdwarf B Stars and Their Pulsations.
Thu, 3O Oct 2019Gavin RamsayMeasuring the brightness of stars from space: flares, outbursts, exoplanets and the inside of stars.
Thu, 10 Oct 2019Christopher DuffyThe Spatial and Temporal Variation of Mg II Emission Profiles in the Solar Atmosphere
Thu, 17 Oct 2019Jorick VinkThe heaviest stars and black holes in the Universe
Thu, 24 Oct 2019Apostolos ChristouThe Martian Trojans: a natural experiment in asteroid evolution.
Thu, 31 Oct 2019Borislav NedelchevUsing the MANGA IFU survey to trace the importance of accretion events in the triggering of optical AGN activity and the formation of kinematically distinct components.
Thu, 07 Nov 2019Andreas SanderNext-generation stellar atmosphere models: From understanding spectra to creating a virtual laboratory
Thu, 14 Nov 2019Sebastien ViaeneHow to measure dust in galaxies? A panchromatic perspective.
Thu, 12 Dec 2019Tomer ShenarDo we understand the progenitors of black holes and neutron stars?
Thu, 06 Feb 2020Conor ByrneAtomic Diffusion and Pulsation in Post-Common-Envelope Binary Stars
Wed, 12 Feb 2020Eamon ScullionSULIS: Solar cUbesats for Linked Imaging Spectropolarmetry
Fri, 14 Feb 2020Chris Lintott(to be rescheduled)
Mon, 17 Feb 2020Martin HendryThe Dawn of Gravitational-Wave Cosmology
Wed, 26 Mar 2020Durgesh TripathiThe First Space Solar Observatory of the Indian Space Research Organisation-Aditya-L1
Thu, 27 Feb 2020Ioana BoianConnecting massive stars to interacting supernovae
Fri, 28 Feb 2020Jonathan MacKeyMagnetised Stellar-Wind Bubbles
Wed, 04 Mar 2020Abhishek Kumar SrivastavaRecent Advances in Global and Local Heating Mechanisms of the Solar Atmosphere
Thu, 05 Mar 2020Joachim BestenlehnerThe most massive stars in the Local Group: the cluster R136
Thu, 12 Mar 2020Helge TodtSpectral analysis of born-again central stars of Planetary Nebulae
Thu, 19 Mar 2020Chiaki KobayashiThe origin of elements and their evolution in galaxies
Fri, 27 Mar 2020Niels WarburtonGravitational waves from galactic cores

Previous Seminars:

Helge Todt (University of Potsdam, 12 Mar 2020, Germany, 12pm)
Spectral analysis of born-again central stars of Planetary Nebulae

Joachim Bestenlehner (University of Sheffield, 05 Mar 2020, 12pm)
The most massive stars in the Local Group: the cluster R136

Jonathan MacKey (DIAS, 28 Feb 2020, 12pm)
Magnetised Stellar-Wind Bubbles

Ioana Boian (Trinity College Dublin, 27 Feb 2020, 12pm)
Connecting massive stars to interacting supernovae

Durgesh Tripathi (IUCAA, Pune, India, 26 Feb 2020, 11:30pm)
The First Space Solar Observatory of the Indian Space Research Organisation-Aditya-L1

Martin Hendry (University of Glasgow, 17 Feb 2020, 3pm)
The Dawn of Gravitational Wave Cosmology

Eamon Scullion (Northumbria University, 12 Feb 2020, 12 pm)
SULIS: Solar cUbesats for Linked Imaging Spectropolarimetry

Conor Byrne (AOP, 6 Feb 2020, 12pm)
Atomic Diffusion and Pulsation in Post-Common-Envelope Binary Stars

Tomer Shenar (KU Leuven, 12 Dec 2019, 12pm)
Do we understand the progenitors of black holes and neutron stars.

Sebastien Viaene (Ghent University, 14 Nov 2019, 12pm)
How to measure dust in galaxies? A panchromatic perspective.

Andreas Sander (AOP, 07 Nov 2019, 12pm)
Next-generation stellar atmosphere models: From understanding spectra to creating a virtual laboratory

Borislav Nedelchev (AOP, 31 Oct 2019, 3pm)
Using the MANGA IFU survey to trace the importance of accretion events in the triggering of optical AGN activity and the formation of kinematically distinct components.

Apostolos Christou (AOP, 24 Oct 2019, 12 pm)
The Martian Trojans: a natural experiment in asteroid evolution.

Jorick Vink (AOP, 17 Oct 2019, 12pm)
The heaviest stars and black holes in the Universe

Christopher Duffy (AOP, 10 Oct 2019, 12pm)
The Spatial and Temporal Variation of Mg II Emission Profiles in the Solar Atmosphere

Gavin Ramsay (AOP, 3 Oct 2019, 12pm)
Measuring the brightness of stars from space: flares, outbursts, exoplanets and the inside of stars.

Holly Preece (AOP, 18 Sep 2019, 12 pm)
The Effect of Tidal Interactions on Hot Subdwarf B Stars and Their Pulsations.

Abstract:
Hot subdwarf B stars are evolved core He-burning stars formed by binary interactions with a nearby stellar companion. Many sdBs reside in close binaries which experience strong tides yet the systems are most likely not tidally synchronized. These stars have been both predicted and observed to pulsate with multiple frequencies. Asteroseismological analysis of the observed pulsations shows that they do not quite fit with the theoretical models, especially in the close binary systems. The tidal interactions effect the expected frequencies of pulsation in these stars.

Seminar Organisers: Andreas Sander, Galin Borisov
Contact: seminar@armagh.ac.uk