Seminars

At AOP we run a program of weekly seminars, except during the summer.

Next seminar:

Martin Hendry (University of Glasgow)

17 Feb 2020, 3pm

The Dawn of Gravitational Wave Cosmology

The regular schedule for 2019/2020

DateSpeakerSeminar Title
Thu, 05 Sep 2019INAM
Wed, 18 Sep 2019Holly PreeceThe Effect of Tidal Interactions on Hot Subdwarf B Stars and Their Pulsations.
Thu, 3O Oct 2019Gavin RamsayMeasuring the brightness of stars from space: flares, outbursts, exoplanets and the inside of stars.
Thu, 10 Oct 2019Christopher DuffyThe Spatial and Temporal Variation of Mg II Emission Profiles in the Solar Atmosphere
Thu, 17 Oct 2019Jorick VinkThe heaviest stars and black holes in the Universe
Thu, 24 Oct 2019Apostolos ChristouThe Martian Trojans: a natural experiment in asteroid evolution.
Thu, 31 Oct 2019Borislav NedelchevUsing the MANGA IFU survey to trace the importance of accretion events in the triggering of optical AGN activity and the formation of kinematically distinct components.
Thu, 07 Nov 2019Andreas SanderNext-generation stellar atmosphere models: From understanding spectra to creating a virtual laboratory
Thu, 14 Nov 2019Sebastien ViaeneHow to measure dust in galaxies? A panchromatic perspective.
Thu, 05 Dec 2019
Thu, 12 Dec 2019Tomer ShenarDo we understand the progenitors of black holes and neutron stars?
Thu, 19 Dec 2019Christmas Break
Thu, 02 Jan 2020New Year break
Thu, 09 Jan 2020
Thu, 16 Jan 2020
Thu, 23 Jan 2020
Thu, 30 Jan 2020
Thu, 06 Feb 2020Conor Byrnetba
Fri, 14 Feb 2020Chris Lintott(to be rescheduled)
Mon, 17 Feb 2020Martin HendryThe Dawn of Gravitational-Wave Cosmology
Thu, 20 Feb 2020Jonathan MacKey
Thu, 27 Feb 2020Ioana Boian
Thu, 05 Mar 2020Joachim Bestenlehner
Thu, 12 Mar 2020Helge TodtSpectral analysis of born-again central stars of Planetary Nebulae
Thu, 19 Mar 2020Chiaki KobayashiThe origin of elements and their evolution in galaxies
Thu, 26 Mar 2020
Fri, 27 Mar 2020Niels Warburton

Previous Seminars:

Tomer Shenar (12 Dec 2019, 12pm)

Do we understand the progenitors of black holes and neutron stars.

 

Sebastien Viaene (14 Nov 2019, 12pm)

How to measure dust in galaxies? A panchromatic perspective.

 

Andreas Sander (07 Nov 2019, 12pm)

Next-generation stellar atmosphere models: From understanding spectra to creating a virtual laboratory

 

Borislav Nedelchev (31 Oct 2019, 3pm)

Using the MANGA IFU survey to trace the importance of accretion events in the triggering of optical AGN activity and the formation of kinematically distinct components.

 

Apostolos Christou (24 Oct 2019, 12 pm)

The Martian Trojans: a natural experiment in asteroid evolution.

 

Jorick Vink (17 Oct 2019, 12pm)

The heaviest stars and black holes in the Universe

 

Christopher Duffy (10 Oct 2019, 12pm)

The Spatial and Temporal Variation of Mg II Emission Profiles in the Solar Atmosphere

 

Gavin Ramsay (3 Oct 2019, 12pm)

Measuring the brightness of stars from space: flares, outbursts, exoplanets and the inside of stars.

 

Holly Preece (18 Sep 2019, 12 pm)

The Effect of Tidal Interactions on Hot Subdwarf B Stars and Their Pulsations.

Abstract:
Hot subdwarf B stars are evolved core He-burning stars formed by binary interactions with a nearby stellar companion. Many sdBs reside in close binaries which experience strong tides yet the systems are most likely not tidally synchronized. These stars have been both predicted and observed to pulsate with multiple frequencies. Asteroseismological analysis of the observed pulsations shows that they do not quite fit with the theoretical models, especially in the close binary systems. The tidal interactions effect the expected frequencies of pulsation in these stars.

Seminar Organisers: Andreas Sander, Galin Borisov
Contact: seminar@armagh.ac.uk